The Institute of Banking Personnel Selection has notified CRP RRBs XV, and buried inside the largest banking recruitment of the year is a small, quiet door for practising advocates: 46 posts of Officer Scale-II (Law Officer) across 28 Regional Rural Banks. Registration is open from 1 September 2026 to 21 September 2026. There is a single online examination — no preliminary round — and 40 of its 200 marks are law.
This post is one of the few genuinely open lateral entries into banking for a lawyer with two years at the Bar. It does not require a bank background, it does not require an MBA, and — contrary to what almost every job portal is telling you — it does not require proficiency in the local language of the State you apply to.
At a glance
| Recruiting body | Institute of Banking Personnel Selection (IBPS), on behalf of 28 participating Regional Rural Banks |
| Post | Officer Scale-II (Specialist Cadre) – Law Officer |
| Vacancies | 46 (Law Officer). Officer Scale-II total 1,047; CRP RRBs XV total 13,706 |
| Qualification | Law degree with 50% marks in aggregate |
| Experience | 2 years as an advocate, or as Law Officer in a Bank or Financial Institution |
| Age | Above 21 and below 32 years as on 01.09.2026 |
| Basic pay | ₹64,820 – 93,960 per month (RRB Officer MMGS-II scale) – not stated in the notification; see below |
| Application window | 01.09.2026 to 21.09.2026 |
| Fee | ₹850 (all others) / ₹175 (SC, ST, PwBD), inclusive of GST |
| Selection | Single Online Examination → Common Interview → Provisional Allotment |
| Apply at | ibpsreg.ibps.in/rrbxvaug26 (Officers Scale I, II and III) |
First, a correction: it is 46 Law Officer posts, not 51
A number of job portals are still carrying 51 Law Officer vacancies and a headline total of “13,742+”. Those are the figures from the short advertisement IBPS issued in late August, before the detailed notification and its Annexure-I were published.
The detailed notification revised the specialist Scale-II numbers downward by 36 in aggregate. The corrected split is:
| Officer Scale-II post | Vacancies |
|---|---|
| General Banking Officer | 666 |
| Information Technology Officer | 182 |
| Chartered Accountant | 81 |
| Law Officer | 46 |
| Agricultural Officer | 38 |
| Treasury Manager | 18 |
| Marketing Officer | 16 |
| Total, Officer Scale-II | 1,047 |
Two riders that matter more than the headline number. First, the notification itself says: “Vacancies mentioned here are indicative and anticipated as communicated by the RRBs” — provisional allotment is made against vacancies actually reported at the end of the process, and IBPS has revised RRB vacancy counts mid-cycle before. Second, at least one participating bank (Tripura Gramin Bank) reported “NR” — not reported — against its posts, so the figure can move upward as well as downward.
Do not treat 46 as a ceiling, and do not treat it as a floor.
Eligibility — the clauses, verbatim
Educational qualification
“Degree from a recognised University in Law or its equivalent with a minimum of 50% marks in aggregate.”
Note what this says and what it does not. It says 50% in aggregate — across the law degree, not in the final year alone. It says degree in Law or its equivalent, which accommodates the five-year integrated B.A. LL.B./B.B.A. LL.B. as much as the three-year LL.B. It says nothing about the degree being from a National Law University, nothing about a class or division, and nothing about a separate relaxation of the 50% for reserved categories — where IBPS intends a relaxation it says so expressly, and here it does not.
Post-qualification experience
“Two years as an advocate or should have worked as Law Officer in Banks or Financial Institutions for a period of not less than two years.”
This is the clause that decides most applications, and it is drafted disjunctively. You qualify by either route:
- Two years as an advocate. Practice at the Bar counts on its own. There is no requirement that the practice be on the commercial or banking side, no requirement of a minimum number of appearances, and no requirement that it be in a particular forum.
- Two years as a Law Officer in a Bank or Financial Institution. An in-house legal role in a bank, an NBFC, a co-operative bank or a financial institution counts even if you never appeared in court.
Two practical points. Experience is reckoned as on 21.09.2026, the last date of registration — not as on the date of the examination and not as on the date of allotment, so the two years must be complete by the closing date. And experience certificates are called for at the interview stage: if your two years are at the Bar, be ready with your Bar Council enrolment certificate showing the date of enrolment, and ideally a certificate from the Bar Association or your senior. A gap between enrolment and actual practice is the single most common reason candidates in this stream come unstuck at document verification.
Age — and the exact date-of-birth window
IBPS has, helpfully, printed the birth-date window rather than leaving candidates to compute it:
| Post | Age (as on 01.09.2026) | Date of birth window (both dates inclusive) |
|---|---|---|
| Officer Scale-I | Above 18 – Below 30 years | 02.09.1996 to 01.09.2008 |
| Officer Scale-II (all, incl. Law Officer) | Above 21 – Below 32 years | 02.09.1994 to 01.09.2005 |
| Officer Scale-III | Above 21 – Below 40 years | 02.09.1986 to 01.09.2005 |
Relaxation is the standard pattern — 5 years for SC/ST, 3 years for OBC (non-creamy layer), 10 years for PwBD — and is cumulative with the categories the notification recognises. An advocate born on 2 September 1994 is inside the window; one born on 1 September 1994 is not.
The pay: what the notification does not tell you
Read the notification cover to cover and you will not find a pay scale. IBPS RRB notifications do not print emoluments; pay is governed by the service regulations of the allotted RRB and by the periodic settlement, and the advertisement simply says pay will be as per the rules of the bank.
That silence is why so much wrong information is in circulation. Most coaching portals still print ₹48,170 – 69,810 as the Officer Scale-II basic scale. That is the 11th Bipartite Settlement / 8th Joint Note scale effective 01.11.2017, and it is obsolete.
Regional Rural Banks were brought onto the 12th Bipartite Settlement / 9th Joint Note pattern with effect from 01.11.2022. The current basic pay scales, as published by the RRBs themselves in their statutory RTI disclosures, are:
| Grade | Basic pay scale (w.e.f. 01.11.2022) |
|---|---|
| Officer Scale-I (JMGS-I) | ₹48,480 – 2000/7 – 62,480 – 2340/2 – 67,160 – 2680/7 – 85,920 |
| Officer Scale-II (MMGS-II) | ₹64,820 – 2340/1 – 67,160 – 2680/10 – 93,960 |
| Officer Scale-III (MMGS-III) | ₹85,920 – 2680/5 – 99,320 – 2980/2 – 1,05,280 |
So a Law Officer joins on a basic of ₹64,820, rising along the scale to ₹93,960, plus dearness allowance, house rent allowance, city compensatory allowance and the other components applicable to the allotted bank and centre.
One honest caveat: implementation of the revised allowance components has been uneven across RRBs, and trade-press reporting as late as November 2025 named several banks where special pay, washing allowance, halting allowance and the revised HRA were still in arrears. The basic scale above is published by the banks; the allowance package is worth confirming with the specific RRB you are allotted to.
Three things about this post that are widely got wrong
1. There is no local-language requirement for Scale-II
Everyone knows RRB recruitment carries a local language condition — and for Officer Scale-I and Office Assistant (Multipurpose) it does: proficiency in the local language as prescribed by the participating RRB, proved by having studied that language up to Standard VIII or above. That condition is not imposed on Officer Scale-II. A Delhi advocate can apply against a Kerala or Tamil Nadu Gramin Bank vacancy without a language certificate. This substantially widens the field for the Law Officer post, and it is routinely mis-stated.
2. You may apply for only one post in the Officers cadre
“However, a candidate can apply for only one post in officer’s cadre i.e. for Officer Scale-I or Scale-II or Scale-III.”
An advocate who is eligible for both Officer Scale-I (any graduate, 18–30) and Officer Scale-II (Law Officer) must choose. The trade-off is real: Scale-I has 4,256 posts but a three-stage process and a local-language condition; Scale-II Law Officer has 46 posts, a single examination, and a candidate pool restricted to law graduates with two years’ standing. On any sensible reading of the odds, a practising advocate with 50% in the LL.B. is competing in a far smaller pond in Scale-II.
3. The examination is not a general banking paper
Forty of the 200 marks are Professional Knowledge — for this post, law. The rest is the standard officer paper.
| Test | Medium | Questions | Marks | Time |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Professional Knowledge | Hindi / English | 40 | 40 | 30 min |
| Reasoning | Hindi / English | 40 | 40 | 30 min |
| Quantitative Aptitude & Data Interpretation | Hindi / English | 40 | 40 | 30 min |
| Financial Awareness | Hindi / English | 40 | 40 | 15 min |
| English Language or Hindi Language | English / Hindi | 40 | 20 | 30 min |
| Computer Knowledge | Hindi / English | 40 | 20 | 15 min |
| Total | 240 | 200 | 150 min |
Candidates attempt either the English or the Hindi language test, not both. There is no preliminary examination for Officer Scale-II or Scale-III — a single online examination, followed by a common interview.
What to read for the Professional Knowledge paper: banking and negotiable instruments law, the SARFAESI Act 2002, the Recovery of Debts and Bankruptcy Act 1993, the Insolvency and Bankruptcy Code 2016, the Indian Contract Act 1872 (particularly indemnity, guarantee, bailment and pledge), the Transfer of Property Act 1882 (mortgages, sections 58–104), the Companies Act 2013 on charges, the Limitation Act 1963, the RBI Act and the Banking Regulation Act 1949, the Consumer Protection Act 2019, and the law of documentation, hypothecation and lien. Add the Bharatiya Nyaya Sanhita provisions on cheating and criminal breach of trust and section 138 of the Negotiable Instruments Act, which is where a bank’s law officer actually spends a working day.
Timeline
| Event | Schedule |
|---|---|
| Online registration and fee payment | 01.09.2026 to 21.09.2026 |
| Edit window | 2 days after closure of registration |
| Last date to print application | 06.10.2026 |
| Pre-Examination Training | November 2026 |
| Call letter for Single Examination | December 2026 / January 2027 |
| Single Online Examination (Scale-II) | December 2026 / February 2027 |
| Result — Officers Scale I, II and III | January 2027 |
| Common Interview | January / February 2027 |
| Provisional Allotment | February / March 2027 |
A caution on the examination date. Several portals are carrying 20 December 2026 as the Scale-II examination date. The official notification gives only a month window — “December, 2026 / February, 2027” — and that single-sourced date should not be planned around until the call letter issues.
Fee and how to apply
| Category | Fee (inclusive of GST) |
|---|---|
| SC / ST / PwBD | ₹175 |
| All others | ₹850 |
- Go to ibpsreg.ibps.in/rrbxvaug26 — this is the Officers link. The Office Assistant link (
rrboaxvaug26) is a different application and several portals mix the two up. - Register with a valid e-mail address and mobile number, both of which must remain active until provisional allotment.
- Upload photograph, signature, left thumb impression and a handwritten declaration in the prescribed dimensions.
- Select Officer Scale-II – Law Officer and the State / RRB. Remember you get one officer-cadre post only.
- Pay online and print the system-generated application. Keep the registration number and password.
Official notification PDF: CRP RRBs XV — detailed notification. Read Annexure-I for the bank-wise and category-wise vacancy tables before you choose a State.
Is it worth it for a practising advocate?
The honest answer depends on what you want from the next decade. Against it: a Regional Rural Bank posting is rural and semi-urban by definition, transfers are part of the bargain, and the work is recovery, documentation, SARFAESI notices, DRT and Lok Adalat matters, staff disciplinary proceedings and vetting of title — skilled work, but narrow. You will not build a practice.
For it: a basic of ₹64,820 from day one at age 23 to 31, an officer’s pension and perquisites, the security a young practice does not offer, and — the part most candidates undervalue — the promotion ladder. Scale-II is middle management. You enter above the Scale-I cadre that thousands compete for, and the run to Scale-III and beyond is measured in years, not decades. For an advocate two or three years into an uncertain practice, 46 posts on a single examination with no language bar is one of the better-odds propositions in the market this season.
Whether you apply or not, apply by the 21st. The window is three weeks and IBPS does not extend it for the officers’ cadre.
Disclaimer: This post is a summary prepared for the convenience of readers. The vacancy figure of 46 Law Officer posts, the Officer Scale-II split and the total of 13,706 are drawn from Annexure-I as reported by multiple independent sources; the pay scales are taken from the statutory RTI disclosures published by participating Regional Rural Banks and are not stated in the IBPS notification. Vacancies are expressly “indicative and anticipated” and are liable to change. State-wise Law Officer figures circulating online could not be confirmed to more than one source and are not reproduced here. Candidates must read the official CRP RRBs XV notification in full and rely on it alone. Lawizard.in accepts no responsibility for any decision taken on the basis of this post.
Sources: IBPS, CRP RRBs XV — Common Recruitment Process for Recruitment of Group “A” Officers (Scale I, II & III) and Group “B” Office Assistant (Multipurpose) (detailed notification); IBPS online registration portal, rrbxvaug26; Gujarat Gramin Bank and Maharashtra Gramin Bank suo motu RTI disclosures on officer pay scales; State Bank of India e-Circular dated 05.09.2024 on the 9th Joint Note salary revision.
